Gone Girl – Movie Review

Gone Girl
Starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike
Directed by David Fincher

images.duckduckgoSo, yes. I do do movie reviews. It’s advertised on the website, on all our bios, and I’ve done one. But… I’ve just done one. This is probably because I go to concerts way more than I go to movies. However, this is no excuse.

I love film, and I thought it was about time to do a movie review, but what? I could scour the interwebs and find some obscure indie film, watch it, say it’s good, and promote smaller names (which I will still do, or try), but I also wanted to give you something that you can get close to, and go see at ease.

Anyways, I recently went to see Gone Girl, a film based off the novel by Gillian Flynn. Though I haven’t read the book, and probably good thing I hadn’t, I know for a fact the book is amazing. And the movie… well, same.

I love myself a good claustrophobic mystery. If you feel like you’re being watched while you watch the movie, somebody’s done something right. This is how this movie felt.

The basis of the film, if you’re not familiar with the book, is this: Man and wife are having some troubles in marriage. Man goes out, comes back, and wife is gone. Hence, Gone Girl.

The thing that makes this movie interesting, or at least the first of many, is that everybody thinks the husband, Ben Affleck, did it. We know he didn’t, but we also know he’s kind of an asshole who looks like he doesn’t really give a shit. He’s like, a smug adult male Kristen Stewart. Emotionless about his wife’s disappearance, but also kinda happy sometimes, which makes the fingers point to him.

So, as we try to figure out what happened to Rosamund Pike, we try to make sure people don’t think her husband did it, because he didn’t. But… he’s an asshole. (Slight spoiler alert) I mean, he was sleeping with his student. And did… as his wife is missing… like. Stop. You’re not helping.

Okay. I’m trying to decide if I want to drop this one on you. The film takes it’s huge fucking mind twist in the middle, adding in our villain. One of, no lie, the best villain’s I’ve seen. Like, this character though…. is dark. Disgusting. Smart. Amazing. Wow.

Okay. (SPOILER ALERT. EVEN THOUGH THIS IS IN ALL CAPS, SPOILER ALERTS DON’T PISS ME OFF PERSONALLY BECAUSE IF IT’S REALLY THAT GOOD OF A MOVIE, WHICH IT IS, YOU CAN ENJOY IT EITHER WAY, WHICH YOU CAN. BUT IF YOU REALLY REALLY DON’T WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS, STOP. SPOILER ALERT.) It was the wife.

At this point, I didn’t know who to root for. Do I go for the husband, the innocent asshole trying to survive getting arrested and blamed for his wife’s staged murder? Or do I cheer on the genius psychopath wife, who has been planning this entire thing for who-knows-how-long, and who will stop at nothing to get to her goal: “Missouri has the death penalty”?

This is all I’m going to say right now. I’ve already told you too much. But GO SEE THIS. The movie is beautiful. It’s sick. It’s twisted. But it has some beautiful shots. The cuts are short and chopped, the music tightens things. It’s claustrophobic, beautifully written and shot, and totally deserving of some sort of award.

I’m going to end this off with, to keep some sort of generic music theme, and to maybe make up for this not being quite an indie film, with a final verdict review, and a movie soundtrack. The idea of the movie soundtrack is to give some songs that ran through my head as I was watching. Whether it be because of the title of the song, the lyrics, or the sound, these are tunes I think would go perfectly with Gone Girl playing in the foreground. Check back for another movie review, due next time I go see a movie.

Soundtrack: Every Other Freckle by alt-J, Psychopath by St. Vincent

Final Verdict: 9/10

Leave a Reply

