Happy Birthday indie/alt (Band Game 3.0)

One year ago today, indie/alt went public with a post called Band Game. It was a little game that went around Facebook a while back in which you listed your favorite bands and answered some questions based off of them.

Since then, we’ve covered tons of shows, reviewed plenty of albums, and even began to interview artists on their craft. I, as the creator of this baby called indie/alt, am very proud of what we have accomplished.

I have found a deep passion in music that has always been rooted in me, and have been able to let it grow. I want to thank everyone that has been on this journey with me, and hope that the next year in the life of this site will be even more exciting than the last.

To celebrate this milestone, I would like to present Band Game 3.0 (you can check out my 2.0 version in the Notes section of our Facebook page). You can check out our first post ever, the original Band Game, here, and see how my taste in music has grown.

Thank you all again! More content and exciting announcements coming soon! 🙂

~ Brendan Swogger

BAND GAME 3.0

Pick 10 artists that you love before reading the questions.

1. Taylor Swift

2. Lorde

3. CHVRCHES

4. Haim

5. The Colourist

6. Bastille

7. Deap Vally

8. St. Vincent

9. Thanks

10. alt-J

What was the first song you ever heard by 6? Pompeii. I remember very vividly when I heard it for the first time. I was in the car on a long road trip and I was looking in the new releases section on Spotify, and there was this track by this up-and-coming band, Bastille. I listened to it, and was blown away. And now I’m blown away by how huge they’ve gotten since then.

What is your favorite song of 8? Oh, jeez. I always have the hardest time with these questions. I guess… Laughing With A Mouth Of Blood. I don’t know! They’re all amazing!

What kind of impact has 1 left on your life? Okay, to be honest, I just suddenly became obsessed with TSwift. But the impact was hard, even though it was fast. I used to be like, “Eh. She’s okay.” Then, 1989 dropped, and now I’m completely head over heels, on repeat, reblogging on Tumblr, and throwing $150 into 100 section seats to see her live in Seattle. So, yeah. That’s that.

What are your favorite lyrics of 5? Oooh, definitely “I don’t want to fall in love.” It’s the chorus of Stray Away, and that song honestly makes me cry every time.

How many times have you seen 4 live? Once… and IT WAS THE BEST FUCKING DAY OF MY LIFE

What is your favorite song by 7? CREEPLIFE

Is there any song by 3 that makes you sad? Before, I would’ve told you that none of them really do, because all of their songs are very upbeat, but my favorite song, Under the Tide, makes me sad a lot now. I saw an interview with Lauren where she mentioned that she wrote it about a close friend of hers that passed away, and when I went back and listened to it with the perspective, it just hit me. I will always love that song, and I probably love it even more now than before.

What is your favorite song by 9? Terrible Two, no question. I LOVE that song!

When did you first get into 2? When I heard Royals on the radio for the first time ever, it started. But it REALLY started when my friend showed me the rest of The Love Club EP later. Then I fell in love!!

How did you get into 3? When I bought their album on a whim after hearing that it was good, and listened to it. I hadn’t heard much before (maybe one song) but after I got the album, my mind exploded.

What is your favorite song by 4? My Song 5! Tie between the original and the A$AP Ferg Remix.

How many times have you seen 9 live? Twice, plus I hung out with them for like a few hours for an interview (HERE!)

Is there a song by 8 that makes you sad? Strange Mercy probably. I recently performed a live cover of it, and I really had to dig into the meaning of it to bring out the emotion. It’s actually a really emotional song.

What is a good memory concerning 10? Getting to go to their Bing Lounge session and meeting Gus and Joe afterwards!

What is your favorite song of 1? All of the songs on 1989 are AMAZING, but, if I had to choose… either Out Of The Woods or I Know Places!

If given the choice, which # would you like to have a conversation with and why? Taylor Swift! The amount of longing I have to hang out with her is immeasurable! She’s such a genuine person and so funny and down to Earth! I just love her a lot…

Leave a Reply

